The initiative to establish the Ethiopian Academy of Sciences began in 2007 through informal discussions among concerned scientists who felt the need for scholars to work together for promoting a culture of science and science-based development in the Ethiopian society. The scientists believed that this initiative could be achieved by establishing an Academy. 

The Ad-Hoc Committee for the Establishment of EAS 

A concerted effort to establish the Ethiopian Academy of Sciences continued in 2008 and an Ad-hoc Committee was formed. The committee included academics and representatives of professional societies. 


Dr. Seme Debela, Chairperson
Agricultural Sciences

Dr. Faud Temam, Member
Health Sciences

Dr. Gezahegn Yirgu, Member
Natural Sciences

Dr. Yacob Arsano, Member
Social Sciences

Prof. Masresha Fetene, Member
Natural Sciences

Prof. Alemayehu Teferra, Member
Engineering and Technology Sciences

Dr. Solomon Bellete, Member
Agricultural Sciences

The Ad-hoc committee




The Ad-hoc committee finalized its preparations and held a "National Conference on the Establishment of an Ethiopian Academy of Sciences on 13 February 2009 . The aim of the conference was to discuss 

the mission, vision, objectives and activities of the envisaged Academy as well as to share experience with established Academies from developed and developing countries. For proceedings, click here.

The National Conference, which was attended by 250 academics and professionals representing a variety of disciplines and professional associations, was concluded with the setting up of a Launching Board of the Ethiopian Academy of Sciences. 

replica watches
fine watcheswatches replicafake rolex watch

The Launching Board of the Ethiopian Academy of Sciences

The Launching Board of the Ethiopian Academy of Sciences (LBEAS) worked towards the actual establishment and launch of the Academy with nine elected board members.

Redda Tekle Haimanot, Professor

Vice-President Masresha Fetene, Professor

Member Alemayehu Teferra, Professor

Bahru Zewde,

Berhane Asfaw, PhD

No Picture

Berhanu A. Molla, Professor

Brhane Gebrekidan, PhD

Zenebework Tadesse

No Picture

Member Zerihun Kebede, PhD

omega watches replica omega swiss replica.



Our Address

EAS Secretariat 
Around Gulele branch of Commercial Bank of Ethiopia
The old historic building of the late Blaten Geta Hiruy Wolde Selassie
Tel: (+251) 11 2595745/50
Email: or
PO Box 32228 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia


JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps.
However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser.
To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.



© 2014 EAS. Website Developed by Climax Technologies plc

Follow us